Sports Partners


Level 3 Accredited




40-year Team Announced

Killarney Vale Australian Football Club announced its Mens 40-year Team, at a formal Dinner held in the Diggers@theEntrance showroom and attended by 190 Members and Guests, on Saturday, 16 June 2018. 

MC for the evening was Ian Granland, who was joined by special guests, including Mark McVeigh (ex-Essendon), Jarrad McVeigh (Sydney Swans), Daniel Lloyd (GWS Giants), Wal Bembick (BDAFL President) and Garry Burkinshaw (BDAFL Operations Manager).

The evening started off with a welcome from Club President, Paul Forster, who commented on the many remarkable achievements of the Club over its forty years, both on and off the field.  

Then Club Captain, Brendan Lewis, in his address, urged the present playing group, to 'stick together and stay with it', adding that lifelong friendships would result from this experience.  "It's all about people", he added.

Following the Entree, an 'On the Couch' interview session with Mark, Jarred and Daniel was hosted by Ian Granland. Answers from all three, to some penetrating questions of both a personal and professional nature, were frank and honest – ranging from the pensive to the more humorous – all received with generous applause.

After the Main Course, it was down to business.  The following Members of the 40-year Team were individually announced and presented with a commemorative pennant (shown above):

John Carpenter Back Pocket
Corey Shakleton * Fullback
Sean Killen * Back Pocket
Pat Schell * Half-back Flank
Danny Hayes Centre Half-back
Brendan Lewis * Half-back Flank
Warren Maguire Wing
Matthew Daniel Centre
Clint Austerberry Wing
Tony McVeigh Half-forward Flank
Rex Imrie Centre Half-forward                    
Geoff Cann Half-forward Flank
Rick White * Forward Pocket
Michael McLeod Full Forward
Dane Amidy * Forward Pocket
Paul Harrison Follower
Mitchell Gray Ruck-rover
Garry Richardson Rover
Daniel Lloyd * Interchange
Mick Thurston Interchange
Josh Mifsud * Interchange
Russell Stimson Interchange
Michael Smith Interchange
Alan McGlinn Interchange
Coach Tony McVeigh
Asst. Coach John Pidgeon
Team Manager Allan Elsworthy
Runner Peter Harvey
Trainer Bob Brown
Trainer Sean Riedel

* Denotes ex-Junior

Club Sponsors

Editor Login